Car Accidents involving Underinsured Motorists in Colorado

Injury Lawyer Serving Boulder, Longmont, Broomfield & Surrounding Areas in Colorado


car accident concept In Boulder, experienced accident attorney Chris Jeffress knows the tactics insurance companies use to delay, deny or low-ball claims from the insured. If you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, then you deserve fair, complete compensation following a serious accident caused by a motorist with insufficient coverage.

Minimum Liability Coverage May Not Be Enough after a Serious Accident

Like all states, Colorado law requires automobile owners to carry minimum auto insurance coverage, including minimum amounts of liability. Liability coverage pays for the other person’s bodily injuries and property damage – up to the limits you select – in the event you cause an accident. Flip the scenario around, and you are relying on the other person’s liability insurance if they caused the crash that injured you. But does their policy have enough coverage to pay your bills, or did the auto owner select the bare minimum required by law?

Here are the minimum liability requirements required by Colorado:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death to any one person in an accident;
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death to all persons in any one accident; and
  • $15,000 for property damage in any one accident.

Many motorists are tempted to purchase minimums. After all, it brings down the cost of your policy. But the least expensive choice may not be the best choice. When deciding how much liability you want to purchase, think about what assets you have. Purchasing more than the minimum may end up sparing you from an attack on your assets or a drawn out lawsuit should you cause a serious crash. Weigh the pros and cons carefully when choosing liability limits.

Once again, let’s say the tables are turned: You are injured in a serious accident caused by a driver with minimum insurance. You find out your expenses for bodily injury will easily exceed $25,000. But why should you have to pay the rest when you were not the cause? Mr. Jeffress can help you review your own insurance policy to determine your options.

Turning To Your Own Insurance for Relevant Coverage

car insurance file folder In Colorado, insurance companies must offer you uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, known as UM/UIM. Although you can reject this coverage in writing, having it can be invaluable if you are injured by an underinsured driver.

UM/UIM will make up the difference between what the other driver has and the limits of your UM/UIM coverage. This can help you pay for economic losses like medical bills, as well as non-economic costs like pain and suffering.

Mr. Jeffress can pursue the full and fair amount of compensation. Your insurance company wants to keep payouts as low as possible to benefit their bottom line. As an experienced, passionate attorney on your side, Mr. Jeffress will seek maximum compensation on your behalf. You have been paying for UM/UIM coverage, and you deserve maximum benefits now that the unexpected has occurred.

Uninsured Drivers

Colorado is among the states with the highest rates of uninsured drivers. Whether they never purchased insurance or let their policies lapse, these irresponsible motorists put you in a precarious position if they cause a crash that injures you. Some of them flee the scene of accidents they cause, knowing they have broken the law in more way than one. In such situations, you should be able to turn to your uninsured motorist coverage for assistance, even in unfortunate cases of hit and run.

Find Out if you have a Case

Even with a UM/UIM policy, you may find resistance from your insurance adjuster. Because they are concerned with their bottom line, they may require you to jump through hoops to prove your case. Experienced attorney Chris Jeffress will work tirelessly to recover the full amount you are due, without resting until the best possible outcome has been reached. For your complimentary consultation with our experienced Boulder, CO, accident attorney, please call us at 303.993.8685.


Please fill out the form below or give us a call to schedule your appointment.

What Happens During Your FREE Consultation?

01. Get to know our experienced team of attorneys. 

02. Discuss your case and any questions or concerns you may have.

03. We’ll work with you to build a personalized strategy for your case.

Get in Touch

* Required fields.
Call 303-993-8685 or email us to schedule a FREE consultation

Accessibility Toolbar

Scroll to Top